35 days

Wow! It’s surreal to finally have a date to countdown to. I’m full of emotion and planning away. So many things are on my mind: money, my boys, my business, my clients, travel, insurance, excitement and fear. 

Because I own my own salon, I’ve had a lot of decisions to make about how to handle everything regarding me taking 6-8 weeks off, obviously without pay. I have worked very hard for almost 10 years to create this business, my business. I love what I do, and I love my clients. In May 2015, I accomplished one of my dreamsโœจ, I opened my own studio salon. It’s little, it’s just enough room for me and a couple clients, it’s pricey because of its location, but it’s mine. 6 months after signing my lease, SIJD in my right side became chronic, and just a few months later I slipped and fell and became a chronic bilateral SIJD warrior. My clients are family and because of that I am so loved. Everyone has been so supportive of my choice to have surgery and encouraging when it comes to having it sooner rather than waiting on insurance. I’ve been able to schedule almost everyone in the next 4 weeks for one (or even 2!) more appointments before I get screwed ๐Ÿ”ฉ. It’s gon’ be cray ๐Ÿ˜ณ and I hope I make it to Dr.becks OR in one piece, but I will make it happen. I also have a wonderful friend who will look after my clients while I’m away. The hardest part is the fact that I will have to close the doors to my little studio ๐Ÿ˜ฉ because I simply cannot afford the rent while I’m recovering from surgery. I don’t know what will happen when I’m ready to work again, but I do know my clients rock and I will have their support long after I’m recovered. 

We’re also almost done securing our shiny new loan for this absolutely necessary surgery that my overpriced PPO insurance is going to make me fight them to pay for because they say it’s elective. Sigh. ๐Ÿ˜ž The surgery itself is pricey, but less than some minimally invasive bilateral SI fusion methods because both sides can be done the same day. PTL ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป I’m being quoted about $27,000 for the whole she-bang…more than any car I’ve ever purchased or what we spent on our wedding. This was obviously not a decision we took lightly, and I’m praying it’s the right one. It terrifies me to be putting my family into so much debt, but we have faith we’ll pay it off somehow. If you know me you know how stubborn and prideful I can be. Asking for help in times like this is not easy, but ultimately necessary. We have set up a GoFundMe if anyone is interested in helping financially. This money will go to helping us pay bills (including that new one โ˜๏ธ) while I’m off work, healing from surgery, and fighting my insurance. It has already helped us book our flights and hotel room for surgery week! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts to those who donated ๐Ÿ’œ 

Again, we are taking a huge leap of faith with this surgery and all that entails. You prayers and continued love are still welcome and needed. Thank you ๐Ÿ’œ 

One thought on “35 days

Leave a Reply

