One week 

Tomorrow will be one week until bilateral Rialto SI fusion. I cannot believe how fast time has passed. I have been very busy finishing up my work, making my clients look and feel fabulous, as well as the final arrangements for clearing out and closing up my salon studio. I’ve been so busy that I haven’t really thought much about surgery.

Even thought my brain hasn’t been stressed, apparently my body has. Two weeks ago I broke out in a rash that could only be explained as an allergic reaction and/or stress. 

It looked like I had been attacked by Wolverine! It stung like a sunburn and spread fast. My primary care physician prescribed a steroid and antihistamine and told me to relax. Luckily Dr.Beck said the meds were fine to take pre-op and within 3-4 days it began to clear. Though it’s nowhere near as bad as it was, it is still hanging around. I’m not sure what to make of it to I guess I’ll blame stress.

Then on Saturday I started to feel a tickle in my throat. Sure enough, I’m now fighting a full blown head/chest cold 😖…5 days before traveling, and a week before surgery. I’ve been taking all the precautionary measures possible to NOT get sick, yet it still happened. Damn stress is messing with my immune system. With 19 clients to go, closing up shop, Easter and normal mom duties, I have no time for this!!! I’m hoping my trusty essential oils (cold/flu bomb shown below), vitamins, teas and of course as much rest as possible, will kick this bug fast! 


So I guess even though I didn’t feel stressed, my body still found a way to show me that I am. It’s funny how that works, huh?! 

People keep asking if I’m nervous or excited, and I guess the answer is: BOTH. I’m beyond ready to actually start healing. Over the last 17 months, I’ve been told time and time again that I whatever new therapy I was trying, would “take some time”, but would ultimately help get me better. You can go back and read my old posts, but long story short, everything we tried was either a joke, a short term “bandaid” or a diagnostic tool. For the first time in 17 months, I’ll finally be going through a more permanent fix. Now I know the recovery will take time, and it could potentially not work, but at least it’s a shot at a REAL fix, and a chance to move forward in life. For that, I am beyond excited! 

But the fear and questions are definitely still there. What will anesthesia be like? What if I feel the surgery? Will I be able to handle the pain? Will the flight home be miserable? Is this the right decision? The reality is, the only way to answer these questions though, is to just do it. So I’m gonna! 

My bags are mostly packed, our hotel, rental car and flights have been confirmed. I spoke to Dr.Beck’s office yesterday and everything seems good to go for 4/20! Only a few more days til the real journey begins! Please keep the prayers/texts/love/support coming! I need all the magic I can get to get through the next 5 days 💜✨

Leave a Reply

